Fourth International Meeting of the APMP (October 23-27, 2017, Salvador da Bahia, Brazil)

The book of abstracts and the programme are now complete, and can be downloaded here (pdf, version October 13th).

All participants who want to attend the conference without presenting a paper are kindly requested to confirm their participation before September 30th by filling out the registration form ( and paying the conference fee (US$ 50) via PayPal. An invoice will be sent, as soon as possible, by to the email entered in the registration form. This fee will cover congress materials, coffee breaks, and a conference dinner.
The Fourth Meeting of the APMP will take place at the Hotel Sol Barra ( For participants who have confirmed their participation, the hotel offers special discounts for single and double rooms. For reservations, please contact Tâmara Rabelo.

Keynote speakers
Jesper Lützen – Denmark
Carmen Adame Martínez – México
Valeria Giardino – France
José Ferreirós – Spain

Round Tables
Platonism in Mathematical Practice
Eduardo Barrio (Argentina) / Oswaldo Chateaubriand (Brazil) / Marco Panza (France)

Formal and informal proofs
Jessica Carter (Denmark) / Luiz Carlos Pereira (Brazil) / Max Dickmann (France)

On the relationship between geometry and arithmetic: the theories of proportion from Euclid to Hilbert
Organizer: Davide Crippa (Czech Republic)
Speakers: Vincent Julien (France) / Davide Crippa (Czech Republic) / Eduardo Giovannini (Argentina)

Varieties of visualization in mathematics
Organizer: Silvia De Toffoli (USA)
Speakers: Silvia De Toffoli (USA) / Javier Legris (Argentine) / Danielle Macbeth (USA)

Education and mathematical practice
Organizer: Gert Schubring (Brazil)
Speakers: Tinne Hoff Kjeldsen (Dennmark) / Jorge Molina (Brazil) / Gert Schubring (Brazil)

Beyond truth and consistency in mathematical practice
Organizer: Walter Carnielli (Brazil)
Speakers: Walter Carnielli (Brazil) / Marco Ruffino (Brazil) / Abilio Rodriguez (Brazil)

Organizing Committee
Abel Lassalle Casanave – Brazil —– Chair
Frank Thomas Sautter – Brazil
Wagner Sanz – Brazil
Gisele Secco – Brazil
Waldomiro Silva Filho – Brazil
Marco Aurelio Oliveira – Brazil
Itala Loffredo d’Ottaviano – Brazil

Scientific Committee
Luis Carlos Arboleda – Colombia
Jessica Carter – Denmark
Oswaldo Chateaubriand – Brazil
Elaine Landry – USA
Paolo Mancosu – USA
Marco Panza – France -—- Chair

This meeting is being promoted by the Federal University of Bahia (UFBA), and made possible due to the generous support of the National Council for Scientific and Technological Development (CNPq), the Coordination for the Improvement of Higher Education Personnel (Capes), the Brazilian Logic Society (SBL) and the Brazilian Society for Analytic Philosophy (SBFA).